trueirony

Just another WordPress.com site

True Irony is Barefaced Idiocy

I don’t care who knows it, I think the majority of people online are stupid. Either stupid, or being online actually lowers their IQ somehow. Because instead of learning and using the internet for awesomeness, they will somehow gravitate towards the most useless piece of information, the most offensive thought patterns, and the biggest time-wasting articles and memes I have ever come across.

The latest Facebook meme – SPOILER ALERT, if you actually care about this pointless, gender-war-provoking (did I say pointless) spate of posts – is apparently supposed to raise awareness for breast cancer.

Firstly, I do agree that awareness needs to be raised. Knowing at least four people who have had breast cancer helps ensure that I (personally) am totally aware, thank you, but I do understand that there are many who aren’t.

BUT.

Secondly, how is keeping the meaning of your meme (hah) a secret supposed to raise anything other than annoyance and possibly someone’s blood pressure?

But most importantly:

How on earth does a post which states “I’m six weeks and craving smarties” contribute to breast cancer ANYTHING? A fake pregnancy and fake cravings on the profile of a fifteen year old? Your birthday in symbols?

Let me put it like this.

I’ve spent time contributing to research done on several diseases friends and family members have suffered from. I’ve donated money, I’ve been in debates… Hell, nevermind diseases, let’s branch it out to many other beliefs I uphold.

People give blankets to the homeless, risk their lives treating epidemics, their reputations supporting certain minorities…

And you think that your Facebook status is going to make a difference?

OMG! My cousin’s boyfriend’s sister’s mum is five weeks and craves pickles!

I’ve got to go get a mammogram!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

